Artificial Scales



In music, the double harmonic major scale is a scale whose gaps may sound exotic to Western listeners. This is also known as the Bhairav Raag, Byzantine scale, Arabic, and Gypsy major. It can be likened to a gypsy scale because of the augmented step between the 2nd and 3rd degrees. Arabic scale may also refer to any Arabic mode, the simplest of which, however, to Westerners, resembles the double harmonic major scale.[4]

lowering both the sixth and second of a major scale by a semitone.

Hava Nagila

In music, the Phrygian dominant scale is the fifth mode of the harmonic minor scale, the fifth being the dominant.[1] Also called the altered Phrygian scale, dominant flat 2 flat 6 (in jazz), the Freygish scale (also spelled Fraigish[2]), or simply the fifth mode of the harmonic minor scale. It resembles the scale of the Phrygian mode but has a major third. In the Berklee method, it is known as the Mixolydian ♭9 ♭13 chord scale, a Mixolydian scale with a lowered 9th (2nd) and lowered 13th (6th), used in secondary dominant chord scales for V7/III and V7/VI.


Hungarian Gypsy Scale, Hungarian minor, is a name given by different authorities to two different scale forms.

The more commonly used of these scales, also called Hungarian minor scale or double harmonic minor scale, can be found by sharpening the 4th degree of the harmonic minor scale to introduce an additional gap, or augmented second. scale.

Aeolian ♯4 scale, Genie with b7.

Neapolitan Major

major with b2 and b3

Neapolitan minor

major with b2 b3 b6, same as harmonic minor with b2